Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Yaris v. Toyota Corolla

2»

Comments

• reddroverrreddroverr Posts: 509
    you want great mileage AND driving experience? How about this one:

http://www.teslamotors.com/index.php?js_enabled=1
  • tjw1308tjw1308 Posts: 296
    I work as an Internet Manager at a fairly large Toyota store.

While I remember being impressed with the Corolla 5 years ago when the redesign hit, even THEN it seemed a little vanilla.

I think the appeal of the Yaris is it's uniqueness. Sure, the Corolla is a little quieter and has a slightly larger engine (woohoo 20HP!?!?), but it is OLD NEWS. It is most definitely a nice car, but still...

When the NEW Corolla hits as an 08 model, I truly believe we will see a marked difference between the two.

Until then, you can either:

1) Buy a lame-duck (albeit nice) car, knowing full well a complete redesign looms that will leave you with the "old" bodystyle. Spend a bit more money for a bit more refinement (it isn't as much as people think it is), and have a car that blends in EVERYWHERE it goes (not necessarily a bad thing...).

2) Buy a car that's edgy, less expensive (even if it's not by much), performs FINE (hey, it's no Ferrari, but I did manage 85-90 mph on a long uphill stretch of highway, A/C on, with NO problem whatsoever... so get over it :P ), and DOESN'T look like something your 75 year old grandma would take to Bingo. Not to mention it won't be redesigned for quite a while (remember the Fit will be redesigned sooner too).

All in all, I could have gotten a CE Corolla for close to the same $$$, but went with the Yaris. It was a no-brainer for me, and I love people asking me about my car, rather than assuming I'm borrowing it from grandma.

I don't mean to offend the Corolla segment... but COME ON, you all know it :D

T