Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chrylser 300C Oil

hemiedhemied Member Posts: 2
edited April 2014 in Chrysler
Any ideas of a good oil to use in the 5.7L Hemi?
Regular or Synthetic and a good brand name?

Comments

• shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    It is my understanding that the MDS Hemi was designed for 0W-20. Period, full stop, the end. Apparently if any other weight of oil is used the valve scheme that causes the MDS operation will simply not work. Disclaimer: I don't have a car with a Hemi (yet) but I have read the above enough times to suspect that it is true.

So, operating upon the above factoid, I would only go with a full synthetic oil as there is no way I would trust a conventional (or even semi-synthetic for that matter) 0W-20 oil. Specific to the brand, I've been using Mobil 1 (which can be had as a 0W-20) for over twenty years and been impressed with the longevity of my engines (and turbochargers when I've had engines with forced induction) as well as the incredible internal engine cleanliness that Mobil 1 seems to foster. Granted I've never used 0W-20 and that my experience is anecdotal, however, if you check around you will find volumes of data that support what I've said.

Let us know what you decide. ;-)

Best Regards,
    Shipo
  • hemiedhemied Member Posts: 2
    Shipo,
    Thanks for the immediate response. I have been doing some research on synthetics. I have a 92 Vette that calls for Mobil 1 in the user manual. I have had no problems with it. I am leaning towards the Mobil 1 5W-20W that is what the manual calls for. It takes 7 quarts. I never heard of that in a passenger car. A little costly but I do my own oil changes and so it won't be too bad Thanks again.
    Hemied