Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mitsubishi Montero

Comments

• toyotatoystoyotatoys Member Posts: 118
    I'm no expert in wrecks, but something does not seem to be right about this e-Bay picture. Even if the (presumed) roll over was at low speed (37-42 mph, he) I cannot imagine the structural stress not breaking any of the windows. Twelve years ago I had a minivan that fell on its side at less at than 15 MPH (it' a long story!) and all the windows on the impact side broke.

I agree with the earlier posts that if my SUV rolls over and comes out like this, I'll consider myself VERY LUCKY.

Maybe, this Mitsu got beat up in a flood?
  • drew_drew_ Member Posts: 3,382
    It looks like a roll, but a slow roll (possibly on a soft surface like grass) and definitely just once around. The fact that it broke its suspension suggests to me that it rollover once and then landed back on its "feet". That would explain why there isn't much intrusion.

Drew
    Host
    Vans, SUVs, and Aftermarket & Accessories message boards
  • syl1syl1 Member Posts: 6
    I thought posts 853 and 855 are right on target. Perhaps someone who reads this board has the ability, access to scales and to both the old and new montero models to calculate the center of gravity and make a comparison. The scales should be able to read the weight on each tire. I would even have someone sitting in the driver's seat before making the measurements to make it more realistic. I think calculating the center of gravity is commonly and easily done by air transport companies and military before airlifting equipment. Perhaps trucking companies do it too. If the new model's center of gravity is closer to the ground and closer to the center, it would lead me to conclude that the 2001 model is more stable compared to previous models. We could even use this test to compare all vehicles.