Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

General Questions about Leasing Vehicles

Comments

• Kirstie_HKirstie_H Administrator Posts: 11,148
    OK, so it sounds like you're looking for something in the mid-size SUV range. That will be helpful. I'm not an expert on leasing, but we'll see if others have ideas for you in that range. I will say the Buick Enclave is one NICE vehicle, so you might want to keep an eye on lease specials closer to the time you're ready to make the change (2014). You never know when a manufacturer will offer an irresistible lease special.

Excellent credit is just one more factor that makes you a great candidate for leasing. The worse your credit, the harder it is to get a vehicle lease. This is partially due to the fact that if you don't take care of your credit, you might not take great care of your "rented" vehicle, and who knows if you would be able to pay for damages or excess mileage at the end?

In today's world, not owning, but instead leasing, a vehicle can be a smarter financial move for those with good credit than owning, particularly if you are in the RIGHT situation wherein a lease fits your driving patterns and lifestyle. Seniors (and I hate to use that term, as you are around my incredibly NOT senior parents' age) with good credit, who drive few miles and may like to change vehicles every 3 years or so, and like to have a nice vehicle, are very good leasing candidates - it makes a lot of sense. No worries about out-of-warranty breakdowns or non-fixed depreciation.

MODERATOR /ADMINISTRATOR
    Need help navigating? kirstie_h@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
    Share your vehicle reviews

• Kirstie_HKirstie_H Administrator Posts: 11,148