Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Lincoln Navigator Suspension

buzzarabuzzara Member Posts: 2
We just replaced the compressor relay and now the compressor is coming on, but the rear of the truck still won't lift. Does anyone have any ideal of what could be wrong? We also noticed that when we open any of the trucks doors the compressor shuts off.

Comments

• dcoverdcover Member Posts: 7
    I just purchased an '03 Navigator, and I have a question about the Air Suspension. I hear the compressor operate after I shift into gear, but I don't notice any other changes. Is the system supposed to change the ride height on the vehicle? Otherwise, how do I know if it is working properly or not?

Sorry for the probably silly question, but I'm brand new to this vehicle and this type of suspension. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
  • heyjewelheyjewel Member Posts: 1,046
    Others more expert than I will chime in, but basically there are air shocks at all 4 wheels. The compressor pumps them up when you fire up the Nav. The truck sits lower when shut off , but I dont think its much more than an inch or two lower. There are ride height sensors at all 4 wheels as well. When all 4 sensors report the proper ride height, the compressor will shut off. It will come on from time to time to maintain proper ride height. This system not only provides a smooth ride, but it functions as an automatic load leveler during operation as well. When u shut off the vehicle, you may hear the air escaping from the system. BTW, your compressor probably comes on before u shift into gear, but that's a minor point.

Personally I like the air suspension, though it can be more troublesome than simple shock absorbers, it is more functional. Troubles you're likely to see as the truck ages are leaky air shocks and/or lines and perhaps a probelm with the compressor or dryer.