Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Altima Hybrid Test Drive - Give us Your Report!

PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Member Posts: 9,372
edited April 2014 in Nissan
Now that they're starting to hit the lots, this is the place to give us your test drive review of the Altima hybrid!

Comments

• robh243robh243 Member Posts: 4
    I'm a salesman for a Nissan dealer in central NY. We just got a Hybrid Altima in a couple of weeks ago but it's been so cold that no one has come to look at it really. I took it out for a drive and it's actually pretty cool. I think the "older folks" might have a problem with the engine starting and stopping going between the gas and electric modes. Younger people have more of an ability to adapt and will fing the fuel economy outstanding. It's funny to see the fuel economy estimates reversed 42mpg city 36 hwy. The car has great lines and is nicely equipped.

Rob :shades:
  • happy_hybrid_1happy_hybrid_1 Member Posts: 41
    So, it's out there, I've test driven one, but you still can't build one on the Nissan USA website. That is a little irritating, and probably not helping Nissan in marketing the vehicle. It was a quick drive, but I was pretty impressed with the sporty feel and responsive acceleration. I was a little discouraged by the jerkiness of the gas motor engaging after the vehicle was in EV only mode, and I was wondering if this is typical for the Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive system that Nissan borrowed from Toyota. It would be nice if any Camry Hybrid owners could way in on that, as I have a Honda Civic Hybrid and the electric and gas systems are always on together and there is never any jerky feeling. Also, I'd like to see one of the major auto magazines do a full up review of the production version before purchasing one. (The Motortrend article, mentioned before on a different thread was on a engineering prototype.)