Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

GMC Acadia Problems and Repairs

jseck2jseck2 Member Posts: 7
edited May 2014 in GMC
I bought my Acadia about 5 weeks ago and have a little over 2000 miles so far. I got a call last night from GMC Engineering asking about issues that I have had so far, whether they were annoying or otherwise. I've been reading the posts here and there seems to be some common issues, maybe we can all just list our gripes here and see if there are any widespread problems. The point is not to trash the vehicle, just see if our problems are isolated or common to all.

First, I am very happy overall with my Acadia. As an engineer, I had some concerns about buying a "new" model but I was in the market now, so I bought it. It still seems to meet my needs better than anything else out there. It's an SLE-1 with convenience, prefered & towing packages. It seems to be a fairly early production model because the window sticker is blank and there is a note about the pricing not being finalized. I believe it was delivered to the dealer in January, based on the state inspection sticker.

On delivery, I had the following problems-

1. Gas cap retainer was broken.
2. Headlight switch was loose (fell into dashboard).
3. There were still four outstanding "recalls"/TSB's- airbags, transmission programming, steering shaft lube, power seat wiring and rear door switch.
4. Problem with the keys and anti-theft system preventing it from starting.

All of these were fixed rather easily, though it took a few days because the dealership didn't have the programming for the recalls.

Since then I have noticed a few other minor things-

1. Transmission still shifts funny after reprogramming. The engine seems to lug a bit, it likes to run at 1200 rpm and is hesitant to downshift.