Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Charger R/T 400 Magnum

cmcfarlandcmcfarland Member Posts: 3
Hi all,

I'm really new to car restoration, and anyhow, there is a guy in my town who has offered to sell me his Dodge Charger 400 Magnum R/T. I've searched online and I haven't really found any mention of a 400 R/T. Is he lying to me? Could someone please set me straight?

Thanks!!

Chris

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Okay he probably means it's a 440 magnum engine (HP2, 375HP, "L" code engine) in an R/T.

Better make sure it's a "real" car though. Counterfeits abound.
  • cmcfarlandcmcfarland Member Posts: 3
    Thanks for the reply! That's what I thought at first, but he assured me it was a 400 Magnum engine in an R/T, which doesn't make much sense to me. Am I right to be suspicious? How can I check to make sure it's not a counterfeit?

Thank you very much.
    I'm not sure what he's talking about. If it's a 400 engine, this is a late 70s Charger (1978), low horsepower car. I don't recall an R/T except for the Aspen R/T in those years but it had a 360. There was a Magnum GT.

What year is this car?
  • cmcfarlandcmcfarland Member Posts: 3
    The car year is 1974. Does that make sense?

Thank you so much for your help. I think the Edmunds forum may just have saved me from a very costly scam!
    Well I don't know if it's a scam exactly---maybe the seller just doesn't know what he's talking about. You could get a 400 cid engine, 250HP, in a Charger as an option, but there's no "R/T" in 1974 that I am aware of---there is an SE model.

The 1974 engines are a far cry from the powerhouse 440/375HP magnum big blocks.

If you had a VIN # and a data plate (fender tag), we could decode the car for you, and if you had an engine #, better yet.
  • t_apger90t_apger90 Member Posts: 3