Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota RAV4 Cruise Control Problems

ces1938ces1938 Member Posts: 61
edited September 2014 in Toyota
my Rav 4 has the worst cruse control that I have ever seen, and I have been driving cars with cruse controls for nearly 40 years and the Toyota dealer will do nothing to fix it, they just say live with it, it can't be fixed..... It will down shift with least little hill, sometime all the way down to 2nd gear, it bucks and jumps with the transmission jumping from one gear to another, I can not believe anyone could make a mess out of a cruse control like that... It actually knocks all most 5 mpg off my gas mileage, which is not that great anyway..someone please help me..could a person take the damn thing off and replace it with a after market cruse control that actually works????

Comments

• dtown40dtown40 Member Posts: 18
    Perhaps you should consult another dealer about your problem. Sounds like they just dont want to fix your cruise control. Also, have you checked to see if any TSBs have been put out on this issue? If not, you might want to check that as well.
  • ces1938ces1938 Member Posts: 61
    Thanks, but I guess I don't know what "TSB" means or where I would look to find it, can you help me with that??
    Thanks,
    Charles
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    Here's a primer with a link to summary lists of TSBs for your car:

You, Your Vehicle and the Technical Service Bulletin (TSB)

This link goes straight to the TSBs.
    Hey thanks Guy, I will check it out... Charles
  • mlmcgaheemlmcgahee Member Posts: 102
    I have a brand new 2007 RAV4 Base 4cyl (6000 miles on it) that is doing the same thing. With the cruse on, going 60 - 65 mph, up hill it will start shifting in and out of gears, bucking and jumping.... Have you found any answers yet?