Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Toyota Yaris Accessories & Modifications

1235

Comments

  • mgvhmgvh Posts: 4
    I can't find the $350 option for Speed Control anywhere on the Toyota web site for the Yaris. Are you sure it's there? I would really like to get cruise as well... Thanks.
  • mgvhmgvh Posts: 4
    Thanks for the response. I am guessing that is a regional Toyota web site (Texas?). One does not get those options when working through the national site.
    When one does choose "Speed Control" as an option, you don't get any results...
  • dakedake Posts: 131
    That's strange. I start out with just Toyota.com, and then when you select "Build Your Toyota" it asks for a zip code. I can't imagine that Texas is the only state that offers speed control on the Yaris. :surprise:

    I suppose you could build it from another state, print off the summary and take it to your dealer and show them that's what you want. There has to be a way for the dealer to get the components.
  • I don't know if you ever found the "speed control" for your Yaris or not, but I got one for mine last July in California. Mine is a 2007 Liftback with an automatic transmission, and I got it online at thecruisecontrolstore.com and it was part #2501796 for my particular car. I don't know if you have a 2dr hatch or a sedan, or an automatic or standard transmission, but they have cruise control for all of them. $239.95 It works like a charm, :shades: , goes right in the steering column like "factory." It's all "plug & play"
  • pod_racerpod_racer Posts: 1
    I have had my Yaris hatchback since June '06 and I ordered it with the 18" TRD rims with PZero's. I LOVE IT! The handling is fantastic and I get 37mpg with mixed highway/city driving consistently. I have 27,000 miles on the tires and I'm down to about 60% on the treads. I'm planning on replacing the PZero's with Hankook's that I can get through the local Toyota dealership for $165 each installed. The road noise is definitely louder and the ride is rougher, but I don't care because the car looks great and the improved handling is well worth the trade-off to me.
  • liyux2kliyux2k Posts: 1
    hi, so any of u guys know after alarm armed should the trunk open without sounding alarm? i got mine in the dealer im just wondering if is normal cuz my door and stuff all alarmed and shock sensor but hood and trunk is not. is it normal? :(
  • I have seen a few Yaris sedans driving around that have a small wing on the trunk. I have an 07 Yaris sedan and would like to find one if anybody knows where to get one?

    Also I would like to find where I could pick up the factory fog lamps?

    Below is a pic I found of a Yaris the same color and style as mine with both features.

    http://www.cars.com/features/autoshows/2006/losangeles/coverage/images/07_Toyota- _Yaris_frontangle_trs_430.jpg

    Finally one last thing does anybody know if there are after market heated mirrors, I have had them in my last few vehicles and find them extremely handy in wet conditions.
  • vpc5011vpc5011 Posts: 3
    I went to a dealer wanting a yaris 2008 hatchback with power package/cruise control. The sales man told me it is included in the power package. He ordered a hatchback and I went to check it out at the dealer and there were no cruise control. The dealer than had to pay out of his pocket (or so he says) to get it installed because he lied. He told me that I had to pay for the car inorder for him to order the part. So I did and he said it would be in about 2 or 3 days. Then, he calls me and says the part wont be there for another 3 weeks. Today is the day he said it would be all set. I call and he says he has no clue now when it will be done. I demanded to speak to his manager. I spoke to the parts manager and his manager. The parts manager says for base hatchback, the Toyota company does not make the part for it. So, they have to order all the parts and put it together themselves. But, the parts manager has to order piece by piece overseas because there is no pieces in the US.

    I don't know what to do. Should I tell them not to order the part and substitute for free 7 years warranty? I am afraid of them touching the car and doing something they never did before. The cruise control was written into the contract so it has to be delivered or i can take them to court.

    By the way only the Sport 2008 ones have cruise control in the power package and the 2007 ones have it.

    :sick:
  • jetfirekjetfirek Posts: 16
    I went to buy a Yaris today and they were sold out. I then ordered the sports Yaris and my grandson put every option they had on it except I said NO LOUD TAIL PIPES, NO BLUE LIGHTS ON THE FLOOR.. The car came to over 19,000 and I think I am going to love it...

    It does have from factory the intermitted wipers and I think is standard on this S model. Has every option they offered...I forgot to get the arm rest so will call to add it on tomorrow ..do you have the arm rest? It looks petty unstable or like it is an add on? let me know please...thanks in advance
  • dakedake Posts: 131
    The arm rest is quite stable in ours. It gets in the way of the emergency brake a little bit, but you get used to it's position pretty quickly and it's not really a factor.

    Yeah, the Yaris has intermittent wipers but not variable speed intermittent wipers which is what we were talking about earlier. So, you can't choose between slow, slower and slowest. You just get the one spd which always seem to be just slightly not what the weather requires. :D
  • commuter9commuter9 Posts: 2
    I installed a Rostra on my 2007 hatchback. I commute 100 miles a day and really appreciate it. For eBayers, Courtesy Toyota of Tampa has a listing under Yaris for the Rostra CC at $225 plus $12 shipping. The parts are warranteed for one year by Toyota, since it is listed as an OEM part. You can get the install manual from the Rostra web site tech support page. It was practically a no-brainer, but finding some of the components, especially the transaxle connector took me awhile. The pictures are basically lousy. Be sure to slide the control switch's pins in according to the color swatches on the plug. The blue from the switch goes in at the blue swatch but connects to the orange wire of the control module. The squeeze on wire connectors are a pain, must use pliers, and I suggest after you install and it is working correctly, you go back and solder them. If you have big hands, you are going to get scratched up (if you have small hands, you are going to get scratched up). This is the fourth cruise control I have installed in a vehicle, and it was the easiest. No vacuum hoses or servos to fool with and find places under the hood for. Also, no need to take out the fender liner, as the instructions say. Just jack up the left wheel and pop the front liner button off, then bend back the liner to feed the red wire through. I cut it and pushed it through the fender well grommet impaled on an icepick into the cabin, then used a crimp connector. Much, much easier. Most of the wiring is too long, so you have to cram it and wedge it out of sight. Double stick pads don't hold on the control module, so I used epoxy puddy, instead. Oh, by the by, if you don't already know, the Yaris radio does not have a security code, ("entry level car", remember?), so ignore the instruction to write it down. Finding a good spot for the control switch on the column is a slight problem. Your knee might hit it, if you install as recommended. I moved mine back. I can't see it, because of the steering wheel, but I still know it is there :-). They can try to shame us by saying the Yaris is an entry level car, but with the money I am saving on gas, I am literally getting it for free. I have kept my much loved 2001 Trooper 5 speed, and it's 16 MPG to use as a workhorse and swamp buggy.

    The Swamprat Commuter
  • commuter9commuter9 Posts: 2
    I installed a Rostra on my 2007 hatchback. I commute 100 miles a day and really appreciate it. For eBayers, Courtesy Toyota of Tampa has a listing under Yaris for the Rostra CC at $225 plus $12 shipping. The parts are warranteed for one year by Toyota, since it is listed as an OEM part. You can get the install manual from the Rostra web site tech support page. It was practically a no-brainer, but finding some of the components, especially the transaxle connector took me awhile. The pictures are basically lousy. Be sure to slide the control switch's pins in according to the color swatches on the plug. The blue from the switch goes in at the blue swatch but connects to the orange wire of the control module. The squeeze on wire connectors are a pain, must use pliers, and I suggest after you install and it is working correctly, you go back and solder them. If you have big hands, you are going to get scratched up (if you have small hands, you are going to get scratched up). This is the fourth cruise control I have installed in a vehicle, and it was the easiest. No vacuum hoses or servos to fool with and find places under the hood for. Also, no need to take out the fender liner, as the instructions say. Just jack up the left wheel and pop the front liner button off, then bend back the liner to feed the red wire through. I cut it and pushed it through the fender well grommet impaled on an icepick into the cabin, then used a crimp connector. Much, much easier. Most of the wiring is too long, so you have to cram it and wedge it out of sight. Double stick pads don't hold on the control module, so I used epoxy puddy, instead. Oh, by the by, if you don't already know, the Yaris radio does not have a security code, ("entry level car", remember?), so ignore the instruction to write it down. Finding a good spot for the control switch on the column is a slight problem. Your knee might hit it, if you install as recommended. I moved mine back. I can't see it, because of the steering wheel, but I still know it is there . They can try to shame us by saying the Yaris is an entry level car, but with the money I am saving on gas, I am literally getting it for free. I have kept my much loved 2001 Trooper 5 speed, and it's 16 MPG to use as a workhorse and swamp buggy.

    The Swamprat Commuter
  • PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Pennsylvania Furnace, PAPosts: 5,893
    I have to say that your signature there would be a PERFECT title for a blog on your CarSpace page...

    The Swamprat Commuter

    Really has a ring to it. if you need any help or have any questions about setting up your blog on your CarSpace page just click on my username and drop me an email. I'll be happy to help you get going in the right direction.

    MODERATOR
    Need help navigating? pf_flyer@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
    Share your vehicle reviews

  • cathy8cathy8 Posts: 37
    I'm in Canada and just purchased a 2008 Yaris 5 door hatchback. I got the cruise for an extra $450 installed but the control stick is so short that I can't see it when I'm driving! It hides behind the steering wheel. Does anyone know of a fix for this?
  • backybacky Twin CitiesPosts: 18,731
    No simple fix, it is what it is. If it's the traditional Toyota (also used by other carmakers) cruise stalk, its operation is pretty logical. So my advice is, study it carefully and get used to operating it by feel. As you are leaning how to use it, you might find it helpful to make a little drawing of it with the operations clearly labeled, and tape that to the dash where you can see it easily.
  • cathy8cathy8 Posts: 37
    I like the idea about taping a pic to my dash. Thanks. I've been doing some Internet research and my cruise looks exactly like the Rostra cruise. I had been told that I would be getting genuine Toyota cruise but it doesn't seem like that's what I got. I'll have to ask tomorrow when the dealership is open again.

    Thanks for the response.
  • bobaloubobalou Posts: 1
    Contact 3M at 1-8003MHELPS. They should be able to answer your question.
  • cathy8cathy8 Posts: 37
    Thanks for the number.
  • kchaneykchaney Posts: 4
    yea! get a feel for your car! and don't take your eyes off the road.
  • kchaneykchaney Posts: 4
    oh, man, you ain't'a kiddin! bug city! are they makin the bra yet? my wife's won't fit.
  • awadawad Posts: 1
    Hi, I have a Yaris Sedan, and the dealer here in Oman doesnt know what is the kit number. So since you have installed it on your car can you please provide the Kit number?

    thanks alot
  • I have new '09 Yaris and would like to dress it up a bit. Can anyone help me with a few locations for parts and accessories?
  • Check out Yarisworld.com for a great community dedicated to the yaris
  • kneisl1kneisl1 Posts: 1,690
    You are out of your mind if you let some IDIOT install an alram on your Yaris. First of all...no one is going to steal a Yaris! An alarm isnt going to stop them even if they do! But most importantly the installation is quite likely to screw up your car! These installers are not exactly highly paid genious's! I dont know how many times I have seen alarms cause all kinds of probelms, mostly due to faulty installation.
    Well, you were warned!
  • How to change 2008 Yaris 3DR keykess entry to unlock all doors with one press of the unlock button? Shpuld be a combination of button pushes.
  • dakedake Posts: 131
    Just push the button twice - first time unlocks the driver's door, second time unlocks the rest.
  • We just purchased a hatchback with a cruise on it. I recognized the unit immediately. It is a Rostra control unit. If you have limited electronics skills, do not have the service manuals manuals and/or never installed a cruise control. Do not attempt this job. I have all three mentioned above and I have thought twice knowing what I know given warranty headaches. The selling dealer in Houston added $300 for the cruise, but he was under a lot of pressure to get us there from Baton Rouge.
  • I just bought a 2007 Yaris hatchback. I'm having trouble opening the trunk. I turn the key counterclokwise but nothing seems to happen. Am I missing something? I have keyless entry.

    Also, could someone explain to me the difference between the D gear and the 3 gear? When do I use 3? I have never owned a manual so don't know much about differences in gear shifting.

    Much appreciated!
This discussion has been closed.