Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

LS Owner looking for a new car (MKS?)

keystone2k9keystone2k9 Member Posts: 25
edited March 2014 in Lincoln
Hey all, newbie here.

Well, we bought a used LS '00 model (approx 40K) in the summer of '03 and it's been relatively great. Numerous maintenance trips needed that cost us a pretty penny; pretty much invested as much money as if to buy it new, and then some. It's sitting at 85K now, and we're thinking about a new car.

I thought about the MKZ and thought that was it. Then I came across the MKS. I immediately fell in love; distinguished design, ridiculously awesome features, did I mention an exterior and interior to fall in love with?

Can anyone assure that this WILL hit the market in Spring '08 as anticipated? Is this a sedan to buy? Sure looks like it....

Comments

• akirbyakirby Member Posts: 8,062
    I wouldn't count on it being out by Spring - I've heard anywhere from early summer to late fall. Probably won't know for sure until the LA auto show at the earliest and the Detroit Auto show at the latest.

Loyal LS owners think it has potential depending on how the suspension is tuned and how much power it gets.

Base model should be similar to a Sable with a bit more power and a much nicer interior and Lincoln features (THX II, cooled seats, manumatic shifter, etc.). There should be a twin force 350+ HP AWD version but that probably won't appear until a few months after the base version launches.

The biggest difference with your LS will be the MKS' transverse mounted engine and FWD which will make it more nose heavy and it will drive differently than your RWD LS. I'd test drive a Sable just for a baseline comparison.
  • keystone2k9keystone2k9 Member Posts: 25
    Let me know how that goes. My email address is in my profile.