Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Lexus RX 350 Servicing question.

kutrakutra Member Posts: 8
edited September 2014 in Lexus
Hi:

Do you service your Lexus RX350 by miles or time? I don't rack up enough miles...about 10,000 a year. So for the first year, I did the servicing at 6 months (the car had 3000 miles), then at 12 months (the car had 6000 miles). It's 18 months now and the car has 10,000 miles.

Does it make sense to go for the recommended 18 months or 15,000 miles just because my car is 18 months old or should I wait for the car to put on 15,000 miles?

Please advise since the Lexus dealer charges $200 for the servicing!

Thanks,
K

Comments

• avery1avery1 Member Posts: 373
    I'm not an expert but I would think it depends on if the miles are short stop-and-go miles or freeway miles. If they were freeway miles or a mix I would tend to go with miles not time.
  • maximafanmaximafan Member Posts: 592
    Kutra, is that $200 for just an oil change and tire rotation? That seems kind of high. I'm not sure, but I don't think my Lexus dealership charges that much for the oil change and tire rotation. Then again, I prepaid for my maintenance at less than $500 for four years or 48,000 miles, so I feel I got a pretty good deal for my future oil changes/tire rotations.
  • tulsaagtulsaag Member Posts: 1
    I'm due for my 15,000 mile check up and not sure how much they charge in Tulsa. I don't get an air conditioning filter? same as air filter? I paid $50 for oil change. does anyone know what the air conditioning filter is on lexus and should it really be changed after only 15000 miles?
  • la4meadla4mead Member Posts: 347