Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

GMC Envoy instrument panel problems

Comments

• alihsalihs Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2008
    Oh and to fix my panel will be over $500!!!
  • gmcustsvcgmcustsvc Member Posts: 4,252
    alihs,
    I apologize for your frustrations. Can you please email me with your VIN, current mileage, involved dealer, and complete contact information? I look forward to your response. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and giving me to opportunity to work with you.
    Christina
    GM Customer Service
  • pocketpocket Member Posts: 29
    ahlis,
    Look back in the prior posts, you will find several references to people who can fix these panels, for around $200.00. Now I am not a GM mechanic, but from what I do know about electronics, you would not have to enter any codes for the panel to work, as they will only replace the stepper motors that drive the gauges. However if you replace the entire module, they would have to enter the codes for the new module to work with your computer onboard your envoy. For a difference of $300. I would seriously consider pulling the dashboard module yourself, and sending it in to one of these aforementioned people, and having it repaired. The module is not hard to pull, and is thoroughly explained in the Hayne's manual that is available at your local parts store for around $25.00. If this sounds like I have a personal agends, you are right. I am out to cost GM as much money as I can until they own up to their mistakes and do the right thing, and issue a full recall on these vehicles. If I can help any further, I monitor this sight, and am saving all correspondence on this issue. Just post a message in this forum to me, and I will respond. I am honest, and if I do not know the answer, I will tell you so. There is no BS here. Hopefully we can all band together and force GM to do the rig