Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Highlander Power Windows

ewarlick1ewarlick1 Member Posts: 3
The drivers side window control will allow the rear windows to go down, but will not allow them to go back up. To raise the window I have to get out and let them up by accessing the rear window control. Any ideas on what my problem is?

Comments

• ewarlick1ewarlick1 Member Posts: 3
    Randomly, my 2005 Toyota Highlander when the air conditioner is on will switch to heat. Anyone else had this problem and anyone with a solution? :(
  • LoJackLoJack Member Posts: 2
    Although I'm no expert but I had this problem for a very longtime. My friend just fixed it. He took out the panel where the radio and air sit. Unscrewed the side and opened the box where the circuit is. There is a wire that broke. You could immediately see the broken piece. He replaced the wire by saughter it back together. It works perfect! If it wasnt for him I would of had to replace the whole circuit and it would of been around $400 for the part. Good luck! :)
  • tidestertidester Member Posts: 10,059
    It's amazing what a drop of solder can do! :)

tidester, host
    SUVs and Smart Shopper
  • wwestwwest Member Posts: 10,706
    There are two sensors, primarily, that might be at fault, the OAT sensor and the IAT sensor. If either of these should go open circuit the A/C would probably switch to HEAT.

An open OAT, Outside Air Temperature sensor, would indicate to the system that it is EXTREMELY COLD outside. An open IAT, Interior Air Temperature sensor, would indicate that the cabin is TOO COLD.

A third possiblity, while less likely, occurs if the engine coolant is "threatening" to go overtemp. To protect the engine the A/C will be disabled if the coolant temperature is rising toward the "danger" level, but not necessarily "there" yet.