Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mazda CX-9 0-60 Speed

vtxsethvtxseth Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Mazda
Is the Sport with the 18" wheels quicker or slower than the GT with the 20's?

Comments

• maltbmaltb Member Posts: 3,572
    You are going to have a hard time determining the difference between 2 different wheel diameters with the same outside tire diameter.

Either way, they both accelerate at 9.8 meters/second ^2 when driven off a cliff.
  • vtxsethvtxseth Member Posts: 5
    Thanks... Very funny, especially because I have A physics degree... I did not purchase the car to reace it (Obviously), but was shocked to see the new Sequoia going 0-60 sub 7 seconds...
  • nxs138nxs138 Member Posts: 481
    Either way, they both accelerate at 9.8 meters/second ^2 when driven off a cliff.

I beg to differ: they'll accelerate at 9.81 m/s^2. That extra 0.01 is a huuuuge difference ;-)

The only difference I could think of between the two wheels might be weight: if the 20" weighs more, it might take more power to turn it?
    I've never looked at the numbers, but I have no problem getting from light to light or merging with traffic in my CX-9 Touring (18").

I imagine that cars will continue to get quicker. I just read that the new CTS will have 550hp, 0-60 in 4.1, and 1/4 mile in 12.4. A caddy doing 12.4 quarters; who woulda thunk it?
    I beg to differ:

You aren't differing, just being anal. :)
  • tidestertidester Member Posts: 10,059
    Very funny, especially because I have A physics degree

Then you should have realized that your original question was ill-posed! :)

Is the Sport with the 18" wheels quicker or slower than the GT with the 20's?

At 60 mph, neither is quicker. :P

tidester, host
    SUVs and Smart Shopper
  • kj123kj123 Member Posts: 11