Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2010 Subaru CVT Winter Driving Questions and Concerns

canoetrippercanoetripper Member Posts: 2
Has anyone else experienced this?

Imagine driving on packed snow or ice--conditions in which only gentle changes in direction or momentum are safe. Imagine yourself approaching an iced bridge, or descending a hill and approaching a turn or slow traffic. Imagine yourself releasing your foot from the accelerator in order to coast or gently decelerate. Imagine your car appropriately coasting for 4 seconds, at which time the CVT uses engine compression to unexpectedly simulate a subtle downshift, at which time your tires break traction from the slick surface on which you are driving.

My 2010 Outback with the CVT transmission is my 4th Subaru, and until now I was a very happy Subaru owner. I am a very experienced winter driver--raised in Minnesota, have lived in many other snow states, and even in Greenland. I know how to drive on snow and ice, and this issue scared me (almost to death).

Subaru: Fix this critical safety issue!

Comments

• wwestwwest Member Posts: 10,706
    You have just described, perfectly, VIRTUALLY SO, the horrible shortcoming of ANY vehicle that relies on the front tires' roadbed traction coefficient for both drive traction, leading or lagging, and directional control, simultaneously.

At this moment it seems that only 2 automotive manufacturers have thought this dilema through, Acura (SH-AWD system) and VW.

VW has just introduced a FWD vehicle equipped with manual transaxle that uses a