Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Halts Sales of Popular Models - Accelerator Stuck Problem Recall

Comments

• wwestwwest Member Posts: 10,706
    "..easy to fix, though.."

NOT...!!

"Fixing" always entails "finding". Finding a software bug almost always involves being able to reliably replicate the failure mode and as we see that sometimes takes an extended period of time. and WORK.

Sometimes it is simply more expedient to provide a "work-a-round", BTO in this case.
  • oparroparr Member Posts: 74
    Toyota’s recent recall of more than 8.1 million vehicles is shedding light on a lot of things – one of them being an old court case about an accident involving a 1996 Toyota Camry.

Does the 1996 Camry have DBW?
  • kernickkernick Member Posts: 4,072
    OK - bad example on my part. I'm not an expert on which airplane has what control system.

Are you of the opinion that all problems with devices are either human-error or mechanical? Why does Microsoft and most other software makers issues patches? Why do manufacturers stock spare parts like the electronic board that went in my washer last week, if they don't fail regularly?
    Why have thousands and thousands of people had to send their XBox 360 back for repair after months of initially fine use? Why does Sony have a lower but still significant breakdown rate of about on their Sony Playstation3 computer?

http://www.gamespot.com/news/6216691.html
  • millwood0millwood0 Member Posts: 451
    "Are you of the opinion that all problems with devices are either human-error or mechanical? "

anyone answering "yes" to that question doesn't have a brain.

"Why does Microsoft and most other software makers issues patches? Why do manufacturers stock spare parts like the electronic board that went in my washer last week, if they don't fail regularly?