Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Check Engine Light

dmausadmausa Member Posts: 1
I have a Ram 1500 and the check engine light is on. Changed the plugs but the light is still on with a code missfire on different cylinders. Any suggestions?

Comments

• corkscrewcorkscrew Member Posts: 254
    Hope this helps: http://www.obd-codes.com/p0300. Let me know if the code was other than P0300.
    Corkscrew
  • tryn2bhappytryn2bhappy Member Posts: 2
    Hi all. I hope I'm in the right spot. I just purchased a Dodge 2002 1500 4x4 quad cab PU a couple of months back. Being a parent as well as a returning student I thought I was getting a reliable vehicle for my northern travels. Within the first month of ownership the check engine light as well as the s service 4wheel drive lights came on. I immediately took it in and they kept it the weekend and told me that nothing was wrong with the truck (of course, it was within the 'free' repair time period. Today I went to go to town and the check engine light, service 4wheel drive light, airbag lights are all on. The air conditioning wasn't working (the light wouldn't go on as well as quick cool down lights but the motor was only circulating air into the vehicle). The speedometer and tachometer was not working either. Otherwise, the vehicle runs fine: radio, windows, lights, windows and fan works.

The last time I drove it (last night) I hit nothing, heard nothing and smelled nothing sinister. I'm not sure how to go about checking engine codes on it. Last week the regular maintanence on the overhead console registered it's time for an oil change, etc. I hope I haven't left anything useful out, with the exception that I'm flat out broke and don't want to take it in and get the run around. If someone could help me sound less ignorant when I make some calls to mechanics I'd appreciate your help.

Thank you for your time. :sick: