Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Homelink/Car2U

greysongreyson Member Posts: 6
edited October 2014 in Ford
Bought a new 2010 Ford Expedition and car came with new Car2U door/gate opener and NOT Homelink. Gate will not program and Ford's answer is sorry. They told me I can buy a new visor with Homelink at my expense or have new gate controller hardware installed. I visited a dealer who told me the solution was to simply change out the Car2U visor to Homelink but the cost was around 400.00+ to me. Any suggestions as I have contacted Ford with NO success. They feel since it opens my garage door it is working. Forget about it not working the gate.

Comments

• bronsonbbronsonb Member Posts: 170
    I'm not an expert on the Car2U system, but did you Google your problem? I did, and I saw a number of links on security gate programming. Check the Web site for the vendor at Lear Car2U to see what they have to say. It looks like there's a link to contact someone to get more info.

Good luck,
  • greysongreyson Member Posts: 6
    Thanks for the suggestion. I have talked to Car2U. My solution is to get my Homeowner's Assoc. to allow me to put extra hardware in our gate system with the guarantee it will not interfere with what we have, get a gate service company to install which is paid for my Car2U ( I have not had any luck getting anyone wanting to do the install. My Ford Dealer told me the easiest is to switch the entire Sunvisor to the one with Homelink. My issue is I would have to pay 400.00+ to do this which I think Ford should offer to do. They currently produce some cars with Homelink and some with Car2U. Unfortunately I got the car with the wrong unit installed.
  • dchatcherdchatcher Member Posts: 1