Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Outback vs. Accord CrossTour

pcguyspcguys Member Posts: 24
The lease on my Subaru Tribeca is coming to an end, and I wanted something a bit better on gas.

The MotorTrend SUV of the year thing got my attention, and I am seriously considering the 2011 Outback.

Initially, I only considered the 6cyl because I've been driving 6 cyls for many years, and I didn't think I'd be happy with a 4 cyl.

I just test drove the 4 cyl Outback, in real world conditions, and it seemed fine.

I also just test drove the Accord CrossTour. It is soo pretty and upscale, and at $34,000 the MSRP is pretty darn close to a 6 cyl Outback (which is much more utilitarian and station wagon-y).

The Honda Dealer is offering $399 /month leases, no money down, 12k / year, including tax. That seems like an awesome price.

So, has anyone agonized between a crosstour and an outback like I am presently doing?

If so, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks,
Mike

Comments

• rshollandrsholland Member Posts: 19,788
    $34K for a FWD hatchback with awful rear visibility?

An Outback can be had for less money (even 6-cylinder models), has a more useful and user-friendly cargo area, much better rear visibility, and a superior AWD system.

No thanks. I'll take an AWD 4-cylinder (or 6-cylinder) Outback wagon any day over the CrossTour. It's a simple choice for me.

Bob
  • pcguyspcguys Member Posts: 24
    Actually, it's

$34K for an AWD hatchback with awful rear visibility.

As for less money, I don't yet have a quote for the v6 outback (3 years, 12k/year, no money down).

Do you think it's less than $399 / month?

Mike
    The area that might potentially convince me is always on 4WD vs. on-demand 4WD.

Any idea about the handling characteristics between crosstour & outback?

specifically, if you gun a 6cyl outback, can you make it peel out?

Just curious,
    Mike