Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

A Mechanic's Life - Tales From Under the Hood

Comments

• thecardoc3thecardoc3 Member Posts: 5,745
    When I started doing alignments, I got the Hunter alignment machine guy to teach me how to use the quipment and figure the front ends out. The dealership that I was working at didn't send me to training, I went and got it myself. (The same applies to my electronics training, and quite a lot more of what I learned to do)

So I started aligning cars. I studied a lot and learned the ropes the hard way like every technician had to.

Chevrolet Cavaliers, Buick Skyhawks, (any GM "J" body) didn't have elongated holes for the strut to knuckle bolts to allow for a camber adjustment like the Celebrity, or Citation did. ("A" or "X" bodys). The official routine was to measure the front end. Take the equipment off if a wheel needed adjusted, remove the knuckle bolts and tilt the knuckle clear of the strut to ream the strut attachment holes out. Then the tech would re-assemble the front end and mount and re-compensate the heads. Then they could make the necessary adjustments. They paid about an hour a side "extra" on top of the alignment fee to do all of that.
    By design, the car was essentially a "toe and go" alignment.