Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Valve cover gasket?

kdon1124kdon1124 Member Posts: 7
Hi all, Im new here but i have a question. I own a 1993 Subaru Impreza L sedan. I was recently changing the timing belt and noticed my driver side valve cover has oil and gunk all over it. I feel that the cause is that the valve cover gasket has kicked the bucket but could it be anything different?

Comments

• ateixeiraateixeira Member Posts: 72,587
    That and check that the PCV is working, venting air properly.
  • kdon1124kdon1124 Member Posts: 7
    thank you! also how should i check to see if the PCV is working properly. Is it something i can just put my hand by? Im new to cars so im still figuring out the boxer engine as well.
    It is a cheap part so I'd just replace the PCV when you change the valve cover gasket.
    Ok thank you very much!
  • xwesxxwesx Member Posts: 16,747
    And by cheap, he means like $5 cheap, so it really is something to simply replace periodically. ;)
    2018 Subaru Crosstrek, 2014 Audi Q7 TDI, 2013 Subaru Forester, 1969 Chevrolet C20, 1969 Ford Econoline 100, 1976 Ford F250
    haha perfect! I just bought the parts today, the PCV valve was only 3.99 and gasket was 29.99, not to shabby! thanks for all the help!
    Glad you sprung for the extra $4! :D
    Hi again, so i replaced the gaskets and PCV valve and you guys where right! it wasnt too bad at all, took me a total of 6 hours but i took my time and also replaced brakes and had a nice dinner break! But im wondering, i looked at the covers today and theres still a small amount of oil coming from my driver side cover on the top. Its the same side that had a oil soaked cover before. Did i maybe not seal it properly or is it something else?

thanks!
    Both surfaces were clean and level?