Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Wrangler

Comments

• yellowmanyellowman Posts: 209
    I'm not a history expert, but I recall hearing that the Wrangler went away for a year between the YJ and TJ years, I think it was 1996 - anyone know why they did that? Were they considering getting rid of Wrangler, and then changed their mind? Maybe the same will happen this time - maybe they'll replace Wrangler with the Icon, see the drop in sales, and then bring it back the following year. Again, I'm no expert on this stuff - any thoughts on the possibility?

yellowman
  • ottowrkrottowrkr Posts: 778
    Some times car makers want to be the first on the block with the newest model . So when the last 95 YJ's were built the plant was retooled for the TJ.Then after this retooling down time, production started for the TJ . So to have the newest model out they started building new Wrangler Jeeps in 1996 and called them a 97 model.Never did Chrysler consider dropping the Wrangler. Vehicles are designed 3-5 years in advance so the idea of dropping a slow selling model and going back to a previous design would never happen . The cost would kill them. The best they could do would improve that slow selling model with a face lift . If you need proof of this ask GM about the AZTEK. LOL.
  • drew_drew_ Posts: 3,382
    The all-new Jeep Liberty is a product of the Jeep Dakar concept vehicle. They just wanted to test the crowd's reaction to the four doors + the Wrangler/TJ front end styling. People liked it, and so DC built the Liberty! :-)

Drew
    Host
    Vans, SUVs, and Aftermarket & Accessories message boards
  • jacknimblejacknimble Posts: 171
    ottowrkr, yellowman, lookin4sahara and twylie: all good points.

BTW, I want to go on record as NOT defining what a REAL Jeep is. I'm so confused now, I'm not sure which one to hug.