Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Kia Sedona problems

Comments

• boxwrenchboxwrench Member Posts: 55
    Hi I'm new to the Kia forum, although I've read many of the posts since buying my 04 Sedona EX off the showroom floor in Jan 04. My main concern was the fuel mileage or lack of, but have grown to accept it. (Hard to do when my old mini-van an '88 Dodge Grand Caravan gets at least 28 mpg on the hwy without overdrive! )
    In observing the various problems, I feel fortunate that i've only had minor ones--Bubbled step pad on rear bumper, one ck. eng lite for a fuel sensor(of sorts), and the most anoying what appeared to be a burned out left turn signal and ended up being the wiring harness completely cut by the interior body panels. This with the van only being 14 mo. old. I was told that the lamps were not covered and it would be $12 for replacement. Heck, I can replace a $2 turn signal bulb. After nearly cutting my hand to reach in the little hole on the lleft fender, I proceded to completely take out the bulb,socket, and the cut wires!!. In all fairness, after I called and talked to the Svc Mgr, it was covered and repaired.
    As everyone knows, spliced and patched wiring is never as good as the solid wire itself. And sure enough, it happened again, and I fixed it myself this time properly.

My questions are about the Transmission. To date, no problems, 14,000 miles. But from day one, it has not shifted in what I call a "crisp" manner! It just kinda slides into the next gear. My '88 Dodge with 192K on the trans, shifts ever so smartly, and it has never been repaired, or adjusted. DO I HAVE A PROBLEM IN THE MAKING?