Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Camry Engine Related Questions

Comments

• ashayinflaashayinfla Member Posts: 2
    Just because they use the same timing belt, does that mean that the actual engines are 100% compatible with each other as far as bolting one into another????? I dont want to buy an engine from a 2002 highlander thinking it will fit my 96 camry and then find out that I could replace my timing belt with the other but not the whole engine!!!
    They need to be the same size (external as well as internal) have all the same mounting points for engine mounts and accessories, and be compatible with the same internal/external accessories (manifolds, fuel injection, etc). I need to find out which toyota's (or lexus) used the SAME EXACT ENGINE as my 96 v6 camry! I am not a mechanic or expert but I want to find a part for my mechanic to have a easy job and not tell me this is not compatible! I know that IF 1 engine uses the same timing belt as another, they are probably pretty similar, but does that mean they are exact drop in replacements??? :confuse:
  • douglasr4udouglasr4u Member Posts: 1
    Hi,

I have a 2002 Camry with a 2.4l 5th digit E engine. The engine is fried. I am replacing the engine and was told the 2002 Solora uses the exact same engine and I would not need a conversion kit to install it. Is this correct?

By the way Toyota would not even talk to me about the engine. It had 31k on it.
  • kiawahkiawah Member Posts: 3,666
    What happened to your old engine, that it fried?
  • rearwheeldriverearwheeldrive Member Posts: 140
    I had to reread my answer to engine compatiblity.