Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jeep Wrangler Tires and Wheels

Comments

• relgnarwpeejrelgnarwpeej Member Posts: 2
    I just bought a used 2003 Wrangler X....I'm a newbie to these multi-faceted man mobiles....for now. In anycase, my current tire size is the stock 215 75R15, and I'm thinking of upgrading to 31x10.5x15 without lift. Does anyone know what else needs to be done to ensure a smooth ride? I've heard the gear ratio will change and there is something we can do about that (a sensor in the transmission needs to be changed), but no one seems to know exactly what - - not even the JEEP Dealer!! Please elaborate if you know.....Thanks.
  • erickplerickpl Member Posts: 2,735
    31's won't be that big of a deal. 30's were available options from the dealer. Your gear ratio will not change, but your performance may be slightly impacted.

There is a speedometer gear you can change out. It is based on your tire size and your differential gearing. Likely you have 3.73 gearing in your differential. There are several speedometer gear charts/applications on the web that will tell you what you need. Generally, with a 1" change, it won't be a big deal as far as accuracy.

http://www.teraflex.biz/tech/faq/speedometer-gear-chart/

I'm not sure what the stock tooth count is for a 3.73-geared TJ. Your invoice/build sheet will tell your stock gearing (assuming it hasn't been changed).

As a comparison, I have an SE geared at 4.10 stock. I was on 30's and the speedo was off (geared for 28" tires). I regeared to 4.88 and added 33's. My speedo gear is actually more accurate than it was with the 30's. :)

-Paul
  • relgnarwpeejrelgnarwpeej Member Posts: 2
    Thanks Paul,
    When you say "regeared", do you mean just changing out the speedometer gear? Or is there some way to re-calibrate the speedometer to meet the demand of the bigger tires?