Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Geo Metro Engine Questions

18910111214»

Comments

• zendenzenden Posts: 62
    $1800. is way to much for that job. I am sure that you can find a back yard mechanic that can take the head off in 2 hours or less, send the head out to the machine shop rebuild it for $300. and bolt it back on in 2.5 hours or less. With parts labor and machine work it can be done for. $850. It is the easiest and the least expensive car to fix. The engine only weighs 125 lbs. it is like working on a lawn mower; that is why it is inexpensive. I know I am a mechanic. My first 94 Metro I bought on a Thursday, pulled the engine out with my bare hands Friday, put it on the bench, overhauled it over the weekend and was back on the road Monday. Yes I may be bragging a little bet, but the point is; that with this info you could get resourceful, ask around. If necessary pull it your self and send it out. Maybe there is a school around that work on cars for next to nothing. I would suggest mill the head, lap the valves, and replace any exhaust valves if needed. Also repair the primary problem that caused the overheating. As I said these cars are easy to work on an worth the up keep. Warning! Many GEO’s are known to have rust on the left front driver’s side frame rail; the part of the rail where the lower control arm bolts into; this is sometimes caused from sea mist and road salt mostly Many times there is a hole there the size of a soft ball, it is very expensive and time consuming to fix. If there is a small hole there treat it!, fix the engine and drive it for many years to come. If the hole is large think twice before putting much cash into that car. The rust holes only happen on that side of the frame because the passenger side gets a slight mist of oil from over the years, in turn it is protected from corrosion.