Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2014 BMW 5-Series Lease Questions

Comments

• crni123crni123 Member Posts: 67

Hi everyone I am new to this so hope the post is correct. Trying to get some help on a lease

2014 528i
    Premium Package
    Driver Assist
    M Sport
    Heated Seats

MSRP $ 60,825
    Selling Price of $52980 which includes 1500 USAA incentive.

Is selling price a good price?
    Also I wanted to lease for 36 Months and wanted my payments under 500.00 with tax. my tax rate is 6%.

What would i need to do with MSD to get me there. I would hate to have to put down money on a lease.

Thank you for your help

• wassupbeewassupbee Member Posts: 57

@‌ Michaell
    I was just offered another deal by a dealership in NJ.
    MSRP: $62,575
    Sales Price: $51,575
    What would the monthly payment be with and without MSD?
    Also, the calculation above, how much money down is that?
    What's a decent amount for Down payment?

• wassupbeewassupbee Member Posts: 57
    edited August 2014

@‌ Michaell
    They got some numbers for me.
    MSRP: $61,950
    Sales Price with Freight and Doc Fee: 53,770
    What's Gov't Fee: $514.00
    MF: .00091 RV: 62% ($38,409)
    Miles: 10K/Year
    MSD: $3500
    Down Payment $1,524.28
    Monthly Payment $475.72
    Does this look legit?

• MichaellMichaell Moderator Posts: 240,978

@wassupbee said:
    @‌ Michaell

Now you have me confused. Your first offer was from a dealer in GA; now you have one from a dealer in NJ?

The tax implications are huge. I noted, GA taxes the entire purchase price up front. In NJ, they calculate the tax for the entire lease up front and it can either be rolled into the cap cost or paid out of pocket at lease inception.

I would not make any down payment (AKA cap cost reduction) on a lease. You aren't saving any money, and if the car is stolen or totaled, you would lose that money.