Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Isuzu Trooper

Comments

• boxtrooperboxtrooper Member Posts: 843
    Consumer Reports was convicted of deliberately falsifying data and rigging a publicity stunt. Isuzu took them to court and won the battle in principle, but Consumer Reports will tell you they won because the huge free media news coverage was a much bigger value than the lost court case.
    In my opinion the Trooper is very predictable in extreme maneuvers. I have been driving troopers exclusively since 1984. I have had them in all situations. I know for example that in a steep downhill turn across a narrow bridge the Trooper handles just fine at speeds that send a GM minivan of the older wedge design into a nose dive that feels like its might drag the corner of the front bumper on the ground. Troopers stop really weel too. Keep an eye out for tailgaters and give them some room because you can probably stop faster than they think you can.
    If you get hit by other cars, you will be protected and probably drive away since the Troopers stiff frame and solid build uses the crumple zones in the other vehicle very effectively.
    A big part of good handling is good tires. But the 4 tires for $100 deal and you will be very unhappy with the handling. Buy a good tire Bridgestone AT/ Revo or Michelin LTX/MS or other top of the line tire rated highly on http://www.tirerack.com and you will be very pleased with handling and experience much less tire noise at highway speeds. I also agree with the suspension upgrades mentioned by others, I like the OME set of shocks and springs and the sway away torsion bars.