Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Synthetic motor oil

Comments

• fiftyfivenomadfiftyfivenomad Member Posts: 3
    I'm also a UT fan. I worked in Knoxville after I graduated from Tennessee Tech. in 1994 with a Civil Engineering degree. I moved to Nashville last year to attend Vandy.

There is no better place to be than in Neyland Stadium on a chilly, sunny fall day with 107,000 fans going nuts. It is a surreal, dreamlike experience.

I just got a chill up my spine thinking about it.

It's good to meet another Tennesseean. The downside to living in Nashville is that the city is attracting a lot of LA entertainment types. I hope that the rest of the U.S. never discovers just how great this state is so that it won't turn it into another California.
  • chineechinee Member Posts: 50
    I've read on www.bobistheoilguy.com that Pennzoil and Castrol are two high quality dino oils, and I've read that GTX can safely go 5K miles... haven't read about Pennzoil (wasn't looking for comments either").

Since your comfort level is what's important, Iwould advise that you stop by the oil site and read for a few days, even pose a question... Those guys over there are always helpful and will recommend an oil and a change interval for you, regerdless of whether you choose dino or synthetic.
  • ryokenryoken Member Posts: 291
    Are there other labs besides Blackstone to do this? Not that I have anything against them, I'm just wondering if I have choices.
  • bobistheoilguybobistheoilguy Member Posts: 270
    yes, schaeffers, amsoil, m1 all have labs. So does your local cat dealer.

The main reason most use blackstone is to help support them because they pay good advertising money to help support the bobistheoilguy board and they appear to do an excellent job. But as for choices, many oil companies do supply analysis.
  • zoomzoom626zoomzoom626 Member Posts: 124