Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

GMC YUKON BRAKE WEAR PROBLEMS

rc10rc10 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in GMC
I have a 1998 Yukon 4DR 4WD 5.7L. At 20,100 I had
the truck in for service and was told I needed new
front brake pads.I thought this was a bit early
even though I had heard that GM trucks were tough
on brakes, especially front, due to the weight
factor.I called the GMC helpless line and was told
the standard " everybody's driving style and
driving situations are different and that wear on
the brakes is not a warranty item." So I paid for a
$200.00 brake job.I just brought the Yukon in for
service at about 35,000 miles, and guess what?It's
time for new brake pads again. The service rep at
the GM dealer says I have about 2000 miles left on
the pads.I am a very careful driver and not a hot
dog.This time when I called the GMC helpless line
they opened a file on the problem and will have a
factory rep meet me at the dealership to inspect
the truck. Has anyone else out there had a similar
problem? Any ideas?

Comments

• Options
    burdawgburdawg Member Posts: 1,524
    Your brake wear sounds normal to me for a heavy 4 wheel drive vehicle. Sounds like your getting about 20K out of a set of pads. You must do mostly mixed driving with more highway than suburban use. People using large SUV's for suburban use only are usually not getting that much mileage out of their front brakes.
  • Options
    vendingvending Member Posts: 14
    Sounds like the guy above is from general motors.
    Please.
    Hey! Aren't they lifetime breaks anyway. I know, it's still a pain to gett'em changed.
  • Options
    burdawgburdawg Member Posts: 1,524