Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Bad rotors on 1999 Oldsmobile Alero

dingdongbelledingdongbelle Member Posts: 2
edited April 2014 in Oldsmobile
I've been driving for 21 years. Mazda 626 & MX6,
Nissan Stanza, Ford Pinto, Chevrolet Vega & Honda
Accord. Each time, I drove the cars in excess of
60k miles. In the case of my Ford and Chevy, I had
an excess of 80k miles on each of them. This is the
FIRST time I've had to deal with the issue of
warped rotors. And to add insult to injury, my car
has 20k miles on it!

The problem began at 17k miles, but the dealer
couldn't "find" anything! Luckily, from reading
reader responses in the Town Hall, others have
complained. I took the car to the dealer today,
and they have to replace the front brakes and
rotate the rotors. Since I'm at 20k miles, the
dealer said the cost is on me!

This has got to be a design/manufacturer flaw,
woulnd't you think?. What's the next step to
filing a formal complaint? I can't believe this is
my fault and I can't believe that Oldsmobile isn't
doing a recall or something. Can anyone help me?

Comments

• vacstudvacstud Member Posts: 1
    In reply to your rotor replacement bill: If you had to pay out of your pocket, that is unacceptable!! Call 1-800-Olds4U and complain. I bet that they will reimburse you. And find yourself a better dealer. Do you know if the 2000 GLS Coupes had a change from the 1999? I have less than 1000 miles on mine, and ok so far. Thanks. Brad
  • yofa42yofa42 Member Posts: 1
    i had bad rotors, but they were the rears not the fronts. i did notice that both rotors, front and rear, are same diameters so maybe there was mixups at the plant.

after i had the dealer change the rear rotors, i stopped using the e-brake when parking the car with my auto tranny. so far, so good. never any problems with front rotors though.