Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Focus hatchback

Comments

• Yea, I read about that but doubt that a standard issue radio really requires one. At any rate I can't see myself bothering to detach it.
  • wdrwdr Posts: 11
    This is my first time checking out this Focus thread, but I have many comments to make:

1. The ZX3 was a late addition to the NA Focus lineup and will be produced in Mexico. I wouldn't take this necessarily as a negative as my experience as a mfg eng. working with Mexican plants is that the workers are often more conscientuous than NA workers.

2. My first model preference would be the wagon with a 5-speed. I had the chance to drive a Euro-spec model and liked the looks and functionality of the wagon. My second choice would be the 5-door hatch.

3. I really don't care about the lack of power locks, but would like to have cruise control and a sunroof.

4. The criticisms about early production glitches are just plain stupid!! People who make such comments really have no idea what they are talking about. What is more important is that Ford stands behind the product and keeps defective vehicles from getting to customers. Remember, the Focus may have been already on the market for a year in Europe, but many of the suppliers of component for the NA Focus are different, although the designs may be the same.

5. The "wood" on the ZTS is simulated and looks pretty bad in my opinion. I'll probably skip it and look to the aftermarket for a wood dash kit.
  • dudleyrdudleyr Posts: 3,444
    One more fan of the 5-speed wagon. I hope they start to make that model available here soon!
  • I think what the ZX-3 needs is a step up in horsepower and handling to make it a serious threat to other sporty cars (Civic Si, Cavalier Z24, Golf GTI) etc. 150 hp. A tighter suspension and some aggressive tires would do nicely.