Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volvo S40

Comments

• bowlingalbowlingal Member Posts: 9
    RE: comparing the S40 to the BMW3

The BMW 3 automatic is an absolute dog going up gradual long highway hills. It flat out did not perform. Less features for more money--BUT the maintenance is a year longer.

I didn't like it as much. Thought I did, but on a redrive, it wasn't so great. Even though *every* website seems to love it and rave about it etc.. etc.. I found 2 out of 2 dealerships to be really well, almost snobby. I don't want association with the brand, I guess...
  • cbrown038cbrown038 Member Posts: 5
    Bowlingal -
    My experience with BMW is the same as yours. I'm no expert, but I thought the Volvo S40 T5 was the better car for the money anyways.
  • dhanleydhanley Member Posts: 1,531
    The cars are pretty different. BMW's you can fling into a corner and controlled drift it through, etc. The manual tranny is ultra-precise, you can drive full speed over train tracks, etc.

But if you're not the sort of person who drives like that, it can be a waste of money. And the 325i with automatic is not very potent.

I'm still kind of torn between waiting for the new 3 and getting something more "practical" ( like the s40 ).

Can i pop a chip in the s40 and get more hp? ;)

dave
  • allwheeldriv3allwheeldriv3 Member Posts: 35
    "Can i pop a chip in the s40 and get more hp?"