Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

High End Luxury Cars

Comments

• sv7887sv7887 Member Posts: 351
    Designman,
      Message well received..I'm no expert on AWD, hence I defer to your expertise..All I am saying is that a set of snow tires will make an RWD sufficient for winter driving. It's worked for me from everything from a Mercury to a Lexus.

I think the reliability issues really do center around the Electronics issue. Cars continue to get more complicated (Needlessly IMHO), and the Japanese have the edge in this arena. You can't deny that MB has taken a hit in reliability across the board. I find it unacceptable to have defects in a $50K+ sedan. I suppose if you're conditioned to occasional service visits then I wouldn't hesitate to buy an Euro brand. I'm very impatient in this regard, hence I drive a LS400/430.

As per the mileage argument..How many owners actually keep their cars that long? At my Lexus dealership I'm one of the few original owners who still has a 90-92 LS. With the advent of Leasing I doubt the original owner even keeps the car that long. I usually trade in a 5 yr cycle, corresponding with major model changes..It really depends on duration. I'd never keep an Euro brand car for 10+ yrs as I've done with my LS400..

SV
  • 300eguy05300eguy05 Member Posts: 39
    I was just under the impression that if Merc was having problems with their engines they would be publicized. But I guess I am wrong on that. Maybe I just haven't heard about them. Anyway, I am not a Lexus basher, or an M-B lover. I'd like to think I am in the middle. I applaud Lexus for their achievements, and everything that they stand for. Toyota is the benchmark of the industry, there is no denying that.
  • lexusguylexusguy Member Posts: 6,419