Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Taurus/Mercury Sable Sedans Pre-2008

Comments

• mdr6404mdr6404 Member Posts: 5
    I also run over 100K miles on all my cars, with regular oil and other wearable items. this will be my third new car, with almost a combined 500K mile since a magor repair, all fords. I am hesitant waiting for a castophe!
  • stnelstnel Member Posts: 338
    I usually try to get 10 years out of a car before buying a new one so it's good to hear that the Taurus can go the distance.

If I can work out that blind spot with a power seat but not with non-power, I may just go on and spend the extra money. I've been driving the same car for 10 years and a lot of it is getting accustomed to something different.
  • ezaircon4jcezaircon4jc Member Posts: 793
    Go for it. Get all the options if you plan to spend 10 years in the car. In the long run I believe the money will be well spent. My Sable LS had everything except the roof hole, leather and CD changer. I regretted not getting those options within a year. The auto climate control is WONDERFUL! With cassetes getting harder to find, the CD changer is almost required.
    Have fun with your decesion and enjoy whatever you end up purchasing!
  • fdthirdfdthird Member Posts: 352
    I think you hit the nail on the head about a lot of it just getting use to a new vehicle.

I find that on our 2001 Taurus SEL those little "extra" windows behind the back doors help a lot!

Enjoy the new ride!!
  • brucelincbrucelinc Member Posts: 815
    We have had several Taurus's (Tauri?) since 1987. We have had the Vulcan, the 3.8 and now our 2001 model has the 24 valve. My opinion, for what it is worth, is get the 24 valve engine! It is smooth, it sounds great and it has good performance. Fuel economy is better than the Vulcan in our experience.