Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Corolla

Comments

• chalkgrrlchalkgrrl Member Posts: 2
    I am a third year college student who plans on buying her first car very soon. I have finally come to the decision that I would like to buy a 2000 Corolla. Now I've done my research but I know it's always helpful to get info from ppl who've gone through this before. So my question is, what is the difference between a CE and LE trim after the value packages? I plan on getting auto trans (I know there is a difference in speed between the two), the value package offered, and a CD player . The info about the CE on giggo.com's site lists the value package as having A/C, power doors and windows. While the VE does not have power doors and windows but does include the radio and a cassette deck in the value package. Essentially is this the only difference? After I added up the totals there was about a $1000 difference (MSRP price differenc). Would you just say I should go with the lower trim level?

My other question is roughly how much has everyone been paying for the 2000 version of either trim? I will more then likely be buying and not leasing the vehicle. Thank you for the help=)
  • enetheneth Member Posts: 285
    Whatever you do, avoid the 3-speed automatic - the car is much more refined with the 4-speed.

The 2000VE (gone for 2001) has the 3-speed, though it is available on the 2001 CE. All the 2000 CE and LE, and all the 2001 LE and S-automatic models, should be 4-speeds.
  • rbacsafrarbacsafra Member Posts: 85