Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Hyundai Elantra 2001-2006

Comments

• patpat Member Posts: 10,421
    Actually, it seems that a software glitch may have claimed it. That's the impression I've gotten.
  • zigliflerziglifler Member Posts: 99
    i was reading it theotherday and i didn't finish the posts . i can back to finish it asnd it was gone .
  • lovinhockeymomlovinhockeymom Member Posts: 10
    I am interested in hearing from any 2001 Elantra owners who have similar mileage (65,000) and have really tested the reliability of this vehicle. My Elantra is a manual shift, and has been in and out of the shop since 18,000 miles for serious transmission, clutch, engine and electronic problems. I am an experienced driver who has not abused this car, but I would like to hear from others with similar mileage to determine if I have a lemon, or if this model car just has a lot of problems after being driven a while. Thank heavens for the Hyundai Protection Plan, although my second clutch (at 55,000) was on my dime to the tune of $1,000. I have never had a clutch wear out that quickly unless it's abused. I'm currently waiting for them to install a new engine (under warranty). Anyone else out there with similar mileage or problems?
  • vocusvocus Member Posts: 7,777
    Sounds like you got one of the random lemon cars that every manufacturer puts out now and again. :( Good luck with it.

And it's wayyy too late to have the classified as a lemon, if that's what you meant.
  • lngtonge18lngtonge18 Member Posts: 2,228
    Could you describe in detail all the problems you have had? What is the clutch doing that required its replacement? Why do you need a new engine? Clutch and transmission problems are completely different, so what issue do you have with the actual transmission? You are out of luck as far as the lemon law is concerned because your car has too many miles.