Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Camry 2006 and earlier

Comments

• george00george00 Member Posts: 81
    I am an owner of a 2002 LE4 who has found the car flawless except for the driver's seat. The problems you describe are shocking. A defective headlight assembly can happen, and once they fix it, it will probably be fixed. But that brakes on a new car should need virtual redoing is to say the least surprising. That there is rust in the engine compartment is simply incredible. I am not an engineer, much less an automotive engineer, but I understand rust as the oxidation of raw metal over time. How can rust appear on new parts? While it sounds far-fetched, if I were you I would run the VIN number through Carfax and make sure I had a new car.
  • jrct9454jrct9454 Member Posts: 2,363
    ...that are unpainted and contain a lot of iron. This includes a lot of the exhaust system, including some components visible in the engine compartment. It also includes brake rotors. It is obvious to me that the car in question got a lot of exposure to outside moisture on its way from factory to dealer.

I would worry less about the surface rust on iron-based engine components, and a lot more about why those brake rotors were not replaced. They should have been...I would have insisted on it and not accepted turning the existing rotors.

This means that they can't be turned again, and thus will have to be replaced [out of warranty, of course, several years from now] before they would have been otherwise.
  • ahossaahossa Member Posts: 152