Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Did you get a great deal? Let us know in the Values & Prices Paid section!
Meet your fellow owners in our Owners Clubs

Any Questions for a Car Dealer?

Comments

• typhon1991typhon1991 Posts: 64
    isell I think I work in a store similar to yours family owned and virtually no salesman turnover. I have been selling cars for 9 years and half of this job is pure luck. Sometimes you get a stroke and sometimes you get a buyer. It just depends on which straw you draw.
  • kurtamaxxguykurtamaxxguy Posts: 677
    Ok, here's a simple scenario and question:

Customer X goes to his friendly dealer (persian bazaar, no haggle, whatever), gloms onto a favorite car, discusses price, buys the car. Dealer Sales unit then makes its profit from that and other sales (won't go into what is "reasonable" or not here).

Now, does any of this SALES profit go to the SERVICE department? Or is the latter a stand-alone operation that makes __its__ profit from efficient warranty processing and/or after warranty service and parts sales?

Also one general comment: most "Professionals" (the ones that get college degrees, etc - not that it makes us "professional" __all the time__, but that is what we are classified as) despise dishonesty in a car dealer. Example: If I go to a dealer and agree to a reasonable price, then I expect that to be the price and not get jerked around at the last minute by finance or others at dealership.
  • danf1danf1 Posts: 935
    I can't speak for every dealership in the world, but sales and service are usually separate entities. Service makes the money while sales gives it away. It seems sometimes that the only reason that we sell cars is so that we can service them. The overhead in the sales department is huge compared to that in the service department.