Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2013 and Earlier - Ford Escape Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• hey nortsr1, appreciate the advice and well wishes!! went to the edmunds site and did my homework ( although after the fact ) at $ 23,700 out the door with the package III upgrades for the 2006 v-6 tribute , i am up about $200.. it was either $23,700 for the tribute or $23,500 for a 2005 nissan x-terra. after getting more info and considering i never go off road the tribute was the right choice. can you give me some tips on increasing the horsepower a bit?? ( i keep hearing about a computer chip?? , will this void the warranty?? ) also what does one do to get better gas milage?? i am a realtor who puts tons of miles on my vehicle, ( 130,000 on my 2001 escape ). i realize my v-6 2001 escape and my 2006 v-6 tribute have the same 200 hp 3.0 liter engine, thus i see no significant power performence difference. i would think after 5 years ford/mazda would have done something about this?? regards, resales.
  • nortsr1nortsr1 Posts: 1,060
    Your Mazda Tribute should get around 19 to 20 mpg City and 24 to 26mpg hwy. I have a 2005 Mercury Mariner (same engine as the Ford escape and your Mazda Tribute. I make at least three roundtrips per year from Florida to NJ and have always averaged 24 to 26 mpg hwy (and that is doing about 65 to 75 mph on Rt.95 most of the way (except for that darn Washington D.C. beltway area).
    I don't know why you would want a "chip" to boost your performance?? And, I would assume it might void your warranty.You are in Real Estate, so you should not be interested in hopping up your vehicle, as I assume you take customers to and from proospective home sites?
    Be happy with whayt you have..You purchased a reliable vehice that should give you many trouble-free miles.
  • lp1lp1 Posts: 2