Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Trouble starting 2001 Pontiac Sunfire

jkyoung1999jkyoung1999 Member Posts: 2
edited July 2015 in Pontiac
Hello, over the last few weeks we have been having trouble getting my wife's 2001 Pontiac Sunfire to start. The problem only happens first thing in the morning or after the car has sat for a long period of time (12 + hours). when we turn the ignition key the engine begins turning over and then just stops. After several tries the car will eventually start. After starting up for the first time of the day the car runs fine and has no problems until the next morning. My immediate thought was that the fuel pump was going bad but after reading through some more online forums I'm not so sure. It seems to me that if the fuel pump was faulty than the car would have trouble starting through out the rest of the day but I'm no car expert. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• 93tracker5spd93tracker5spd Member Posts: 194