Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Toyota Camry Hybrid Navigation System Questions

15681011

Comments

  • navguy1navguy1 Posts: 181
    Every major hardware supplier leases the mapping information from either NAVTEQ or TeleAtlas. Period. While Goole Maps or Google Earth use both NAVTEQ and TeleAtlas, Mapquest.com leases only NAVTEQ data. It shows you at the bottom of the page when you search for an address. Google Earth uses other data suppliers for the overhead images only as does Microsoft Live.

    Like Google Earth, Toyota DVD map disc utilize both NAVTEQ and TeleAtlas for mapping information and InfoUSA for the POI data. It is printed right on the DVD map disc in your car.

    Lastly, the updates are released every year from Toyota for $250 MSRP.

    FYI - Mapquest.com is owned by AOL.
  • automeautome Posts: 1
    What will take to get copy of 5.1 toyota nav from you?
  • this is the 5.1 loading.KWI file not the entire disk
    http://www.yourfilelink.com/get.php?fid=255527

    click on Proceed to file download page

    Then click download file. You may have to look for the button thru all the adds but it is there.
  • Got my 2008 TCH last November (2007). The car is great, the NAV/Bluetooth systems suffer from poorly written manuals (programmers are notorious for their inability to put themselves in the place of "the-man-in-the-street" when it comes to writing user manuals)! After much trial and error, I found the following ways to get the systems to work:

    NAV (data version 07.1).

    To register your home:
    Push MENU > touch MY PLACES > touch REGISTER (of home) . search your home by ADDRESS, select CITY > OK, then, select STREET > OK - touch LISTS: scroll list of streetnames (UP or DOWN) using SINGLE arrow! Using double arrow slows things up, since they scroll by 10's.
    After street has been found, touch OK, street will show with range of streetnumbers. Also, "memory Point" screen is displayed (the circle with crosshairs in center and eight (8) directional arrows) somewhere along the street..

    Move crosshairs using specific arrows along street to where you think the number might be and click ENTER.
    If number still off, touch REVERSE button ("U" on its side!) and start over again with directional arrows and ENTER until correct number is obtained.

    Then, click ROUTE PREFERENCE and choose your favorite > OK
    Looking at the map, you will find the other "bells and whistles", such as ICON, to show various icons at specific points (usually EXITS).

    In the same manner, one can - before embarking on a trip - choose DESTINATION.
    I found the map system to be very accurate and helpful! It even shows in near pictorial fashion which lane to enter and which lanes to follow.
    Much to my relief and contrary to my first attempts, my house DOES exist!

    Bliuetooth:

    The bluetooth system becomes clearer when one first finds out if one's cellphone will TRANSFER the contact list via bluetooth to the hands-off device (your car!). This can be found on http://www.Toyota.Letstalk.com. My cellphone did NOT, and so I was forced to laboriously enter all my contacts in the PHONEBOOK!

    It appears that AFTER pushing the off-hook button on the steeringwheel one can then push the TALK-switch on the other spoke and proceed as directed in a hands-free fashion.

    Good Luck, everyone who has had troubles with these systems!
  • How can I tell what dvd navigation gen number I have? I know I'm in the wrong forum but it's still a Toyota and I have an '05 Lexus ES330. Thanks!
  • mdchachimdchachi Posts: 275
    I think it's a "Gen4"
  • I know the backup camera does not come standard with the navigation system for the TCH but does anyone know if it can be added? If so, anyone know an approx. cost?
  • plknjplknj Posts: 121
    My dealer offered a backup camera that could be viewed on the nav screen for about $750.
  • barbs090barbs090 Posts: 1
    We too are having trouble with the NAV in our 2008 Camry Hybrid. It doesn't even recognize our own address and we've lived here for 20 years! How do we determine which version we have? Thanks.
  • jaxs1jaxs1 Posts: 2,697
    The 2010 Camry will be released sometime next year and is due for the mid cycle updates. Maybe they will mean a redesigned nav system too.
  • Trying to defeat the NavSys motion interlock.

    Thank you for posting the 5.1 loading.KWI file.

    I replaced my 6.1 loading.KWI file (on a 2007 Camry Hybrid dvd disc) with the 5.1, burned a dual sided DVD (required a +R disc) with all the other files.

    The volume screen upper left touch top/bottom/top/bottom sequence did not do anything.

    Any ideas?

    What I am doing wrong?

    Do I need to disconnect the battery to re-set the system?

    Thank you.
  • pat85pat85 Posts: 92
    I have an 09 TCH. The NAV system is version 7.1.
    I entered my home address and set it up to select all but restricted roads.
    My experience with restricted roads in PA is they are not plowed in snow storms.
    I used it to go from the DC area and Johnstown, PA.
    It worked very well. It's best feature is giving exits far in advance and how to get off for what features you may be interested in food , gas,. motel etc. It even had shopping malls and post offices icons.
    A Navigation System is a tool It gets you from point A to point B It is not a substitute for intelligent driving practices.
    You have to be observant . It thought our motel was a block in the wrong direction.
    We ignored the misdirection when we saw the motel.. I am sure the satellite info is accurate, the NAV map misinterpreted it.
  • pat85pat85 Posts: 92
    I have an 09 TCH. The NAV system is version 7.1.
    I entered my home address and set it up to select all but restricted roads.
    My experience with restricted roads in PA is they are not plowed in snow storms.
    I used it to .go from the DC area to Johnstown, PA.and return.
    It worked very well. It's best feature is giving exits far in advance and how to get off for what features you may be interested in food, gas, motel etc. It even had shopping malls and post offices icons.
    A Navigation System is a tool It gets you from point A to point B It is not a substitute for intelligent driving practices.
    You have to be observant . It thought our motel was a block in the wrong direction.
    We ignored the misdirection when we saw the motel.. I am sure the satellite info is accurate, the NAV map misinterpreted it.
  • jaxs1jaxs1 Posts: 2,697
    I know the Camry with nav has voice controls, but I really don't care about controlling the A/C temperature and radio volume by voice. That's gimmicky and of limited value.
    What's important is exactly how much control over the nav do you have after the car is moving?

    I know you have to stop to enter street addresses with touchscreen, but can you do anything related to entering or changing a destination with the steering wheel controls and voice controls?
    For instance, if you are driving along on the freeway and need to find someplace to eat or get gas, can you use the voice controls and get routed to restaurants and gas stations in the onboard directory without having to pull over and stop first?
    Can you access saved or recent destinations by voice without stopping the car?

    I have never seen anyone go into detail on everything that can be done in motion without hacks.
    It would be a good Youtube project for someone.

    If you can control destinations by voice, it won't be that bad, but if you have no control unless you find someplace to stop the vehicle, then it's pretty useless.

    I know it isn't as good as the latest nav system in the 2008 Accord that lets you actually enter full addresses including city and street address 100% by voice, but I'd like to see just how limited the Camry's nav is.
    I rented a new Camry a few weeks ago, but it didn't have the nav system.
  • pat85pat85 Posts: 92
    The TCH navigation system is not capable of changing inputs unless stopped. There are no Nav system steering wheel controls. There are no voice nav inputs either.
    The NAV sytem comes on with a warning about safe driving. The implication is it's a safety issue not to have the driver mess with the Nav system while driving
    The nav system gives you icons for what is at the next exit.
    It will tell you how to get off and how to get back on. It gives you plenty of warning. It tells you in tenths of a mile.
    The icons include motels, post office, shopping, gas and food.
    I have only used it on a trip. I knew my house and way to work.
    I have since retired.
    BTW there are steering wheel controls for changing the radio station, selecting the mode, and adjusting the volume..
    The AC is set for the driver and passenger separately by setting dials near the AC/ Heater. You adjust them by setting a degree. I don't see changing the setting once set.
    There is the capability to change displays for monitoring odometer, current tank mileage. outside temp. whether in battery or engine and a few other ways of monitoring the hybrid functions on the steering wheel,



    I
  • I had to unplug the battery for a few minutes before it worked
  • thanks! Tried it and yes, that worked for me!
  • jaxs1jaxs1 Posts: 2,697
    There are voice controls for the factory navigation system.

    Is there anyone here that owns a 2007-2009 Camry with factory nav that has used it and can say how well the voice recognition works for entering addresses and finding points of interest while driving?
  • loves2readloves2read Posts: 47
    My 09 TCH has nav screen that automatically defaults to the map--whether I am driving to the corner grocery or starting a trip to an unknown destination where I might want NAV services

    Is there anyway to change that default to the way my husband's Tahoe system is set up---
    you get the nav screen when you hit destination or something like that--
    otherwise you get two lines of info buttons on the audio--so you see the radio station that is playing--and other options for his XM system
    you can get half screen map and half screen audio info or whole screen map if you want that

    can I program around the system's automatic default--or can it be done in the service dept via computer access?
    I did not realize this setup WAS the setup--
    thought it would change if we just used a different format allowed by nav screen options--but that does not appear to bethe case--asked the service mgr when I picked my car up after having the XM installed yesterday and he was basically clueless...

    any info out there?
  • loves2readloves2read Posts: 47
    I registered my car HOME nav spot while it was parked in the garage--so it names just the side street (we are on a corner lot) w/o a house number--it is linked to the lat/long geo address

    sales guy said NOT to put in your own PHYSICAL/MAILING address--to prevent anyone getting the car and finding your home---

    my husband did his for his Tahoe NAV's at our corner intersection instead of the house address
  • jcihakjcihak Posts: 60
    If someone steals your car they will find your address on your registration or insurance cards anyway.
  • jaxs1jaxs1 Posts: 2,697
    Nothing forces you to keep those things in your glove compartment. I don't.
    You can keep it in your wallet/purse.
  • talmy1talmy1 Posts: 55
    If you have more than a single driver, you probably do need to keep the registration, etc. in the glove compartment.
  • loves2readloves2read Posts: 47
    in texas you are not required to have proof of registration/like the title to the car--on your person or in the car if you are stopped by police--they check the ownership via the license tag of the car on their computers--
    you DO have to have proof of current valid insurance if you are stopped--the law used to read that if you left insurance car at home or in another purse maybe you could provide it within a reasonable time period and not have a fine--
    but that law was changed recently and now if you don't have proof of current insurance, the car is towed...and we carry that in our billfords
  • loves2readloves2read Posts: 47
    our sales guy says that dealer installed cameras have the view screen on the rearview mirror--about 1/3 to 1/2 the mirror is taken up
    that did not interest us
    but there is workaround to have the view screen on the NAV screen--but don't know if a dealer would do it because I think the NAV warranty might be compromised...
  • jaxs1jaxs1 Posts: 2,697
    You can order an extra copy or make photo copies.
  • plknjplknj Posts: 121
    My dealer in NJ offered a backup camera through the Nav screen for $700 to $800... hope this helps.
  • hblatthblatt Posts: 4
    Greetings,

    I love everything about my 2007 Camry Hybrid except the fact that the Toyota Lawyers will not let customers use the Navigation system while the car is rolling. I have looked at many forum postings on this subject. I have tried many of the secret menu hacks... But none of these software overrides work with the latest Map DVD.

    I have found a workable hardware solution. I have installed a switch to temporarily interrupt the speed signal to the Nav system when I need access to the menus. (Don't just cut the wire. There are times when you NEED the speed signal.) I just installed the switch inside the center console storage box. Flip the switch and you get full control of the menus. Flip it back for normal driving. You can find pinout information here: http://www.oemvalue.com/installcamry07.htm#pluglayout (Look for R12 pinouts.)
  • nkaizernkaizer Posts: 25
    Can anyone explain the little red dots on the Navi screen that appear to trace a path that I may have traversed previously? I'm sure it's some sort of automatic memory, but a definitive explanation would be welcome. I found nothing in the Navi book on this, but I'm sure I overlooked something. They are very faint red and white circles that seem to come and go, and sometimes -- but not always -- dot the path I've previously taken. I have a 2009 TCH with v.7.2 (upgraded to 8.0, disabling the speed lock-out)
  • navguy1navguy1 Posts: 181
    You have the Route Trace feature turned on. To disable Route Trace and delete the little red dots do the following:

    Touch 'Map View'
    Touch 'Stop'
    Touch 'Yes' or 'No' to keep or delete the little red dots.
Sign In or Register to comment.