Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Nissan Xterra Gauges

falconsixty3falconsixty3 Member Posts: 5
I have a 2000 SE, and I love it. I have a problem with the gauges, however. Especially when its hot, all of the gauges(fuel, rpm, speedo, temp, and odometer) will just go out. Sometimes they come back on and other times they don't work. I'm a mechanic, so i can fix the problem if i know what it is, I was just gonna see if anyone has had this problem before(might save me some diagnostic time). Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    One other member reported a similar issue but no one was able to help him (link).

Please report back when you figure it out.
  • Options
    tidestertidester Member Posts: 10,059
    The most likely candidates are either improper grounding or cracked solder on a circuit board.

tidester, host
    SUVs and Smart Shopper
  • Options
    Thanks a lot. I'll look around and see if i can find anything. I'll let you know how it goes.
  • Options
    sbogersboger Member Posts: 1
    I'm having the same problem with my 2000 xterra. was wondering if you found out what the problem was.
  • Options
    I have not yet. I haven't got a chance to get under the dash and look. But apparently there was a technical service bulletin about there being a faulty ground somewhere under/behind the dash.

Now it has gotten to where the speedometer will freeze where it is sometimes along with the tachometer. I'm off work today, so i try and get it to act up. The problem has been that it always acts up where I can't get a chance to look at it.

I'll let you know if i can figure anything out.
  • Options
    I took out he gauge cluster and the circuit board had a spot on it that looked like it had gotten hot. It would be in the top left hand corner of the gauges if you were facing them.