Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2000-2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Comments

• spratt1spratt1 Member Posts: 53
    Thanks for everyone's information. Sounds like the only particular problem is with the brakes/rotors. I will watch them carefully and go to the semi-metalic when necessary. Other than that sounds like a very good car.

We purchased a 2003 LS, but not the leather option. Anyone know where to get custom (accounts for the steering wheel spoke and in the right color) leather wrap for the steering wheel. Not the one size fits all type at the auto parts store.

Thanks,
    spratt1
  • polymerasepolymerase Member Posts: 2
    Hey guys,

I hear someone wants to know about brake problems. Hears one. I have (had) a 2000 Malibu. Recently the brakes started locking up on me. I'm not a car expert, but the way I descibe it is that the pads would make soft contact with the rotor. Just enough to make a skipping noise (just like if you were to run your finger along a plastic bowl that has just been washed) the front of the car would vibrate a lot and there would be sub-par braking power. I took it to the dealership twice and they said they couldn't find anything. There was a lull so I thought it was a kink that had worked itself out, then it started up again. I told the dealership (again) and it was scheduled to go in this Tuesday. The car must have heard me on the phone because of course, it didn't give me any trouble at all. Well, until Sunday that is. The brakes lock and this time virtually zero braking power. I went out into an intersection and got hit in the rear. Here is the funny part. The car got hauled away and later that day another wreck was put beside mine (well, the damage to my car wasn't bad enough to call it a wreck, yet). The other car apparently exploded and the flames spread to mine. I haven't seen it yet, but according to the police one side is black an