Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW 3-Series 2005 and earlier

Comments

• brave1heartbrave1heart Member Posts: 2,698
  • shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    Tchoo,

Time to dust off my old car mechanic hat from 25 years ago. I am no chemical engineer, but it is my understanding that the higher the octane the more stable the fuel is when heated and under pressure and the cooler the burn. Hence, engines with higher compression ratios (hotter air/fuel mixture pre-spark, more efficient combustion post-spark) actually get more power from premium fuel. The general rule of thumb (my thumb has been getting quite a workout these last couple of days) is to use the lowest grade of fuel that your engine was designed for.

With modern ignition systems, that rule has gotten a little fuzzy, but it is still a good idea to follow it for several reasons:

The earlier your engine can fire the spark plugs relative to the position of the piston the more heat you generate, the better the thermal efficiency. The better the thermal efficiency, the more power you get from a given amount of fuel, that yields either better power or better economy (or a combination of both).

Ignition systems can only retard so far, if you have a very high compression engine (10.5:1 or better) you may actually damage the engine by using a lower grade of fuel in anything but "Limp Home Mode". That means that if you have no other option, use the low octane fuel and then yield to the Little Old Lady in the 1975 Granada.

Higher-grade fuels usually have extra detergents and other additives that help your engine stay clean and produce full power for a long period of time.