Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volkswagen Passat 2005 and earlier

Comments

• wishnhigh1wishnhigh1 Member Posts: 363
    but I personally like the term World-Over-Taking, or Whomp-On-This!

They give a little more meaning to it, IMO:)
  • dle01dle01 Member Posts: 37
    markcincinatti -- I have no background in marketing whatsoever, but I understand what you are saying. I do not agree with you, however. I have always found it curious that the german "luxury" cars we view as very upscale here in the states (BMW, Mercedes) are offered in a variety of clearly very affordable and "downmarket" models elsewhere in the world that are used as family cars, taxis, etc. VWs are still ubiquitous throughout Europe and the developing world as affordable, durable, basic transportation. I guess in the good old USA we have been marketed into beleiving that a Mercedes or BMW is really something special. Both of these companies have tried unsucessfully to offer entry level products that were somewhat affordable (MB 190; 318i hatchback). We have bought into this marketing persona they have created.

So how is VW different? In my non-marketers view, it has a very positive image as a well built european vehicle that does not have to cost an arm and a leg. You don't have to be a doctor or a lawyer to own one and enjoy the engineering and driving dynamics of a well built car. Recently, probably starting with the B5 Passat design, they have also become stylish and trendy too. I think that's great. Vwguild keeps mentioning the cradle to grave concept, and I think that makes some sense. It presumes that some products will remain affordable to the average consumer like myself, while others become image leaders for those able and willing to spend alot more. An abandonment of the "lower end" of the market may be coming, but I'm not looking forward to it.