Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Maxima

Comments

• pwitzpwitz Member Posts: 51
    I would take a pass on a '91 with 190k.
    From what I've heard, that is just about what you can expect Nissan to last for ....@ 200K..and then you look at $$ to make it run longer. Hondas seem to go deeper into the 200k territory.
    I know it is not even close to as sporty or fun to drive as a Max, but even something like a mid 90s Taurus is going to be a better value and a safer car around that price point. Using the Edmunds used car guide, it also seems like $3500 is on the high side..mileage adjustment should be -$1100.
  • silver_bulletsilver_bullet Member Posts: 1,339
    I'm a TX resident as well, and am well acquainted with musty A/C odors. The microfilter may in fact have some mold growing on it, but the smell is more likely coming from the evaporator core. The core (and the plastic box it lives in) are always damp inside from the condensation created by the cold core, and it is a perfect place to grow mold, mildew, and fungus. There are powerful sprays available (the German Wurth company makes one) that you spray directly into the plenum intake to kill the nasties, and they will often get the worst of it. A severe case (no pun intended) may necessitate dismantling the evap case for a thorough disinfecting - a very expensive job. I've seen instances where the mold is so bad that the drain line from the evap case will clog, and cause the case to overflow, dumping water onto the floor of the interior - don't ask me how I know this :-(
  • tarchetarche Member Posts: 1