Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota RAV4 pre-2006

Comments

• whidbeywhidbey Member Posts: 6
    I was wondering what everyone thought about the cargo space in the back. I am looking to buy a new vehicle that will carry my two kids (toddler and a new baby) and a 85 & 65 lb labs. The dogs will need to travel in the cargo area, occasionally for hours at a time. We have only done the peek thru the windows and my husband considers it too small for our needs. I am trying to find the "biggest" small car I can. I have been driving a Ford Probe for the last seven years and really want to avoid the mini van route quite yet. They are just too big for me. The RAV4 seems to rate above all others but I'm worried about being too cramped. Thanks
  • gsogymratgsogymrat Member Posts: 97
    I would not put 2 labs in the cargo area for any length of time. I think one would be okay but 2 is pushing it. I you fold the seats down of course you would have plenty of room.
  • dianne4toyotadianne4toyota Member Posts: 343
    It's true that ABS isn't very available on 2WDs at all but in Socal, it's on every single 4WD version. You may consider that route for the ABS.

Dianne
  • rcbrodskyrcbrodsky Member Posts: 7
    Here in S.E. Virginia the climate is relatively mild and we rarely see snow. My driving is mainly commuter style and my main need is to transport my road bike. I've been debating the 2wd vs AWD issue for the RAV 4. I wonder if the AWD version would make for a noticeably steadier vehicle during driving in inclement weather? Is the AWD equipment more cumbersome and expensive to maintain other than the slight decrease in gas mileage? In other words for 95% of my driving FWD will suffice but would I be losing an important safety feature by not getting AWD in a RAV 4? Any help or thoughts are appreciated!
  • jnj521jnj521 Member Posts: 3