Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW 3-Series Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• dmarie1dmarie1 Member Posts: 1
    My brother bought me a 1995 318is red 2 dr for a graduation present and I have had more trouble than a little bit. I am now a graduate student with very limited funds and these parts prices are out of control. However, I do have a friend who will repair my car if i buy the parts so that the dealership doesn't get my money.My first question is, where exactly are the knock sensors located so that they can be repaired? How important is the air flow meter, will my car stop running? And is it true that you can figure out the diagnostic codes by pressing the accelerator without actually going to the dealership or a repair shop that will charge you an arm and two legs.
  • fcaofcao Member Posts: 31
    I begin to think that the air condition system of my 05 325i does have some problems, not just poor design or new car adjustment.

There are several symptoms:
    1.) Everytime after I switch-off the air condition, there is a musty smell come out of the vent persisting for several minutes. I orginally thought this should go away after a while. But not, even after 700 miles. And the funny thing is, it only happens for the ~ten minutes after I switch off the air condition each time.

2.) The air coming out of the vent is always kind of warmy, if the air condition is off, even when the outside temperature is quite chilly. (I always leave the temp setting between 72 and 75, and open the air circulation from outside)

3.) After I turn-off the engine following a short drive with air condition on, I can hear a not-too-loud but persisting "clicking" sounds coming out from somewhere inside the car, for few minutes after the engine is off and key is out. And, this sound doesn't happen if the drive was with the air condition off.